Fight For The Good

No matter which way you look at it, it seems that 2009 is starting out filled with uncertainty. We are in the midst of an economic situation whose effects are just beginning to be felt in some sectors. There’s war raging in the Middle East and other areas of the world, and we’ve got a new President taking office soon. Whether you voted for him or not, there is always a certain amount of anxiety about a new leader-especially when he’s got challenges like these to face.

These are just a few things on top of any number of personal issues you or I might be dealing with right now. Sometimes it’s enough to make you want to go back to bed and say, “Wake me when it’s all over.” There is no denying that we live in a world full of trouble.

I recently read someone arguing that the amount of evil in the world far outweighs the good. I had to and ask, though, “Really? Is that true?” I know we all experience different things in life, but I’ve learned that we often have a choice about how we view the world. It’s easy to see the bad stuff, but if you work at it, there is plenty of good in the world as well. Times do get tough – I don’t want to ignore that – but if there is good then there is hope for us, too.

I am reminded of this when I read Habakkuk 2:17-18:

“Though the fig tree does not bud and there are no grapes on the vines; though the olive crop fails and the fields produce no food; though there are no sheep in the pen and no cattle in the stalls; yet I will rejoice in the LORD. I will be joyful in God my Savior.”

We have a choice each and every day to worry and despair or to love and hope. It all depends on the kind of life you want to live.I want to encourage you to fight hard to find the good and the beauty around you. They ARE there. You’ll find them when you continually turn to the only reliable source of hope I know – Jesus Christ. May He see you through the difficult times and fill your life with the joy and hope He has in store for you!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.